On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 1330 AM Sheboygan, WI


Current Conditions(Sheboygan,WI 53081)

More Weather »
64° Feels Like: 64°
Wind: W 20 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Thunderstorms 75°


Scattered Thunderstorms 55°


AM Showers 60°


It will be a Busy Primary Election


MADISON, WI (WHBL) - There will be lots of interest around Sheboygan County in the primary election coming up in August.  Monday was the deadline for filing nomination papers.  Sheboygan County’s two state senators - Joe Leibham and Glenn Grothman - are seeking the 6th District Congressional seat vacated by Tom Petri.  They will be seeking the Republican nomination along with Duey Stroebel of Saukville and Tom Denow of Oshkosh.  Winnebago County Executive Mark Harris and Gary Wetzel of Ripon filed papers on the Democratic side.

Meanwhile, in the 9th District State Senate race, Republican Devin LeMahieu will battle Democrat  Martha Lanning of Plymouth in the race for Joe Leibham’s state Senate seat in the November election. 

In the 26th Assembly District, where Mike Endsley is stepping down, Terry Katsma of Oostburg and Job Hou-seye of Sheboygan are seeking the Republican nomination while Terry Van Akkeren, who once held the seat, is the only Democrat on the ballot.

 In the 27th Assembly District, where Steve Kestell is not running for re-election, three Republicans will be on the primary ballot.  They are Sheboygan alderman Darryl Carlson, and Jackie Jarvis and Tyler Vorpagel, both of Plymouth.  Scott Heinig of Plymouth is the only Democrat in the race. 

In the 59th District, where Dan LeMahieu is stepping down, five Republicans have filed papers.  They are Jesse Kremer of Kewaskum, Bill Savage of Hartford, Ralph Prescott of Chilton,  Tim Ramthun of Campbellsport, and Mark Brunner of Kewaskum. 

On the county level, there are only two offices up for election in November and neither will require a primary.  Sheriff Todd Priebe will run unopposed for a 2nd term, while Democrat Christine Koenig and Independent Melody Lorge are seeking the office of Clerk of Courts to replace long-time Clerk Nan Todd, who is not running for re-election.