On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 1330 AM Sheboygan, WI


Current Conditions(Sheboygan,WI 53081)

More Weather »
68° Feels Like: 68°
Wind: NE 9 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Mostly Clear 50°


Partly Cloudy 57°

Thurs Night

Clear 50°


Area counties declared USDA disaster areas for tough growing season


WASHINGTON D.C. (WHBL) - Area farmers who have been hit hard by this year’s tough growing season are now eligible for federal assistance.  On Wednesday the U.S. Department of Agriculture declared 24 Wisconsin counties natural disaster areas.

The weather over the first five months of the year has created multiple thaws and freezes, along with excessive snow and rain.  This has resulted in winterkill and crop losses in declared counties ranging from 30 to 70 percent.

Those farmers in these and adjacent counties can contact local farm service agency offices for more information on federal loans available to them.  In a statement Thursday, Governor Scott Walker thanked the USDA for their quick response.

 Declared counties include Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Dodge, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Shawano, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Waupaca, and Washington.  Counties that share a border with these are also eligible for loans.