On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 1330 AM Sheboygan, WI


Current Conditions(Sheboygan,WI 53081)

More Weather »
60° Feels Like: 60°
Wind: WSW 9 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Sunny 63°


Clear 45°


Mostly Sunny 67°


GAB denies ballot access for Rep. John Nygren in recall election


MADISON, WI (WTAQ) - The state Government Accountability Board has denied Rep. John Nygren ballot access to the recall election. 

The GAB voted to deny access after throwing out 26 signatures.  Nygren only submitted 424 signatures to be added to the ballot under the Republican ticket. The Democratic Party of Wisconsin challenged 38 signatures.  Nygren can still run, but could only as a write-in candidate. 

Democrats questioned some of the signatures filed by Nygren and David Vander Leest – both of whom are hoping to unseat Senate Democrat Dave Hansen of Green Bay.

Since Dave Hansen has chosen legal maneuvers to silence the voters of northeastern Wisconsin, I feel obligated to my supporters to fight this decision and pursue further legal options."  Nygren said in a press release. 

Nygren said he didn’t have time to get more than 424, since he was busy re-writing the new state budget as a member of the Joint Finance Committee.

One of the main challenges against Vander Leest was several address changes over the last several months, but the challenge did not hold up.  Vander Leest moved forward with enough signatures.

“This challenge was nothing more than an attempt to throw a bunch of information at the wall to see what stuck.”   Vander Leest said Monday afternoon at the GAB meeting. 

Vander Leest will now take on Hansen in a general election on July 19th.  If Nygren would been approved, he and Vander Leest would have gone head to head in a GOP primary on July 19th with a general election in August.

Also, signatures from Kim Simac of Eagle River and Robert Lussow of Tomahawk have been challenged in the recall contest against Senate Democrat Jim Holperin of Conover. But the GAB approved both of the candidates to move forward to a Republican primary.